Off List Spells

Wizards and Witches may learn off-list spells, with the following caveats:

1) Unless they have levels in a divine class, they may not use Divine Focus components and thus may not cast any spell that requires a Divine Focus

1a) Some spells, even though not explicitly requiring a Divine Focus, clearly rely on divine power (Holy Smite and others). Thus, I reserve the right to make ad-hoc decisions about which Divine spells such casters can learn.

1b) Only characters that use Spellbooks may utilize Mnemonic Enchanter. There may be other ad-hoc “trademark” spells that I will restrict access to, which I will determine as they come up.

1c) I reserve the right to add other restrictions here when I feel it makes sense. While I hope to be able to defend them all (such as the above to categories), some things may just feel fundamentally wrong.

2) Such a caster may not know more than half of their total spells at any given level that are not on their spell list. Spells that only exist as Divine Spells count as two spells for these counts. For example, if a Witch or Wizard knows 4 spells at a given level that exist on their spell list, they may know at most 4 spells that do NOT exist on their spell list, or 2 Divine-only spells. NOTE that there is some fudging: Assume that spell X is on the Witch, Sorc/Wiz, and cleric spell list. A witch learns this spell from a cleric scroll. It counts as a spell that is on their list for the purpose of determining 50% (so learning that spell would let them learn another off-list spell). Note also that this is considered at every spell level, NOT total spells!

2a) It is theoretically possible that a wizard could take that feat that lets you prepare spells without your spell book, use it on off-list spells, then have their spell book destroyed, and thus effectively know over their limit of off-list spells since they now only really know spells they can prep sans book. While I do not expect such cases to come up, IF something odd like that happens, you may be able to temporarily exist at over your limit, but may learn no more until you catch back up on your core list!

3) Although I may not always explicitly state what kind of caster penned a scroll, I will always know this, and a spellcraft check will reveal it (generally, deciphering the scroll will be sufficient to pick up clues as to the author). This is possibly important, because…

4) If a spell exists on the your spell list at one level and on another list at another level, you can only learn it at the level it exists on your spell list.

4a) If a spell exists on multiple different lists, but not your native list, but at different spell levels, some fancy footwork is needed to determine what level you learn it at. First off, divide all class lists up into groups based on the highest level spell that is on that list. For example, Sorc/Wiz, Cleric, Druid, and Witch are all in one group, the group that has level 9 spells. Bard is in the level 6 spells group, and Paladin and Ranger in the level 4 group. You learn the spell at the highest level OF the highest group it exists on. For example, Cure Light Wounds is a level 1 bard/cleric/druid/witch spell, a level 1 paladin spell, and a level 2 ranger spell. So, it exists on a 9-level spell list, so we take it at the highest level of cleric/druid/witch. In this case, the highest level is 1, so a wizard learns it as a level 1 spell (it is a level 2 Ranger spell, but rangers only have 4 spell levels, so the Witch/etc list wins), . This prevents some of the oddities that Ranger and Paladin and bard introduce, as they learn some spells higher or lower than other casters due to their max (and min!) spell levels, while still GENERALLY enforcing the highest level among spell lists that have the same largest level….. I’m sorry, my grammar basically died, if that doesn’t make sense, i can try to explain it better. I just don’t want 0-levels on most lists being forced into level 1 by Ranger/pally, but OTHERWISE I generally want the highest level it exists at, and this will USUALLY do that.

5) A Witch may NOT swap spells that their familiar learned from reading a scroll or another familiar for other spells at every 4th level (even if the spell exists on the Witch Spell List). That is, ONLY spells gained through level up may be swapped (this prevents hacking such as the following: a friendly ranger scribes you a mountain of Delay Poison scrolls. These are level 1 spells for the ranger, so cheap to produce. You then learn the spell, but it is a level 2 Cleric spell, so you learn it as a level 2 spell, and then lose it for a BETTER level 2 spell. lather, rinse, repeat.). However, you may opt to have your familiar forget any scroll-learned spells at any time (so that you can work around the limit I have imposed by losing old spells). However, you do NOT immediately gain a new spell, and you must learn another spell the usual way. You ALSO do not recoup the costs of the scroll for the original spell

6) Any spell that a witch or wizard learns that is not on their class list is not considered part of their list. Thus, you may be able to cast spell X but it is NOT considered to be on your list.

7) It has become obvious that there is no way to ever fully state the rules in a consistent and complete way (damn you Gödel!), so I may impose restrictions later, but this is a good set of guidelines and the spirit I will try to adhere to.

GENERAL SPELLCASTING RULE The following spells are considered to be on your spell list for the purposes of such things as UMD or anything else that requires a spell to be on your spell list. Druid who select a domain: You consider all spells on your domain list as part of your spell list, but ONLY your domain. Clerics: You consider all spells on either of your domain lists as spells on your spell list, but only your domains. Sorcerers: You consider all spells that your bloodline can grant to be part of your spell list, but ONLY your bloodline. Witches: You consider all bonus spells granted by your familiar type to be on your spell list, but ONLY your familiar. Any other casters: If I missed some equivalent “here, have a small finite number of spells NOT on your list” abilities, they are covered by this rule!

Off List Spells

Into The Wild dylanryan